Navigate India's diverse landscape with IndiDNA

USA Finance Digest is your one-stop destination for the latest financial news and insights

Navigate India's diverse landscape with IndiDNA

India Records 9th Consecutive Win After Defeating Netherlands By 160 Runs in Cricket World Cup 2023

KL Rahul’s century, which is the fastest by an Indian in the World Cup, and Shreyas Iyer’s 128 runs helped India secure a 160-run victory over Netherlands in Bengaluru. This win marked India’s ninth consecutive victory in the tournament, earning them 18 points as they head to Mumbai for the semi-final clash against New Zealand on Wednesday. India’s dominant batting display led by Rahul, Iyer, Shubman Gill, Rohit Sharma, and Virat Kohli powered them to a massive total of 410 for 4, their second-highest World Cup total. Netherlands were bowled out for 250 as India’s bowlers made light work of the Dutch batting lineup, with even Kohli and Rohit taking wickets.

Rohit and Gill started the innings with a strong 100-run partnership, followed by a 208-run stand between Rahul and Iyer. Iyer’s impressive innings addressed doubts about his performance, especially his ability to handle short-pitched deliveries. His calculated approach and ability to avoid risks were on full display, guiding India to a commanding position. Rahul’s aggressive batting further boosted India’s total, with his century coming in just 62 balls, surpassing Rohit’s record for the fastest century by an Indian in the World Cup.

India’s dominant performance with the bat and ball secured their victory, while Netherlands’ chase failed to make a significant impact, with Teja Nidamanuru’s brisk fifty being the only notable contribution. With this win, India heads into the semi-finals with great confidence and momentum.

Topics mentioned in this article

Share this article
Shareable URL
Prev Post

Market Cap of Top 4 Most Valuable Companies Drops by Rs 23,417 Crore

Next Post

PM Shares Photos of Ayodhya on Diwali

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Read next